From 1 June 2024, all non-compliant vehicles except motorcycles will face penalties to drive within the Aberdeen Low Emission Zone. Find out all you need to know here!

Get the app
Pay the Aberdeen LEZ on Caura

What is the Aberdeen LEZ?

Upon approval from Scottish Ministers, Aberdeen City Council announced the implementation of a Low Emission Zone (LEZ) in Aberdeen City Centre on 30th May 2022 with a two year ’grace’ period. This means that between May 2022 and May 2024, drivers will not be fined for entering the LEZ with a non-compliant vehicle.  

Starting 1 June 2024, all vehicles, except mopeds and motorcycles, entering the Aberdeen Low Emission Zone will need to meet the less-polluting emission standards or will face a penalty charge.

get caura

Why does Aberdeen need a Low Emission Zone?

A Low Emission Zone is being introduced to address dangerous levels of air pollution in the city centre, mainly nitrogen dioxide (NO2), which is caused by road traffic.

The upcoming LEZ will:

  • Improve air quality
  • Provide protection of public health and wellbeing
  • Support Scotland to reach its Climate Change targets by reducing its road transport’s contribution to emissions
  • Create a vibrant, accessible, and safe city centre
  • Prioritise active and sustainable transport movement
  • Promote the city as a desirable place to live, visit and invest in

If your vehicle meets the following emission standards, you will not incur a penalty charge for driving within the Aberdeen Low Emission Zone (starting 1 June 2024):

  • Euro 4 for petrol cars and vans (typically vehicles registered from 2006)
  • Euro 6 for diesel cars and vans (typically vehicles registered from September 2015)
  • Euro VI for buses, coaches and HGVs (typically vehicles registered from January 2013)
  • All zero emission vehicles, including fully electric vehicles (EVs)
Charge Tips

What you need to know

Enforcement of the zone will start on 1 June 2024. From this date, all vehicles driving within the zone will either need to comply with emission standards set by the government or will incur a penalty.
Aberdeen Low Emission Zone operating times
The Aberdeen LEZ will operate 24 hours a day, all year round.
How much will the Aberdeen LEZ charge be?
The zone will follow the same pattern as other upcoming Low Emission Zones in Scotland (Glasgow, Edinburgh, Dundee). This means that any non-compliant vehicles driving into the Aberdeen Low Emission Zone from 1 June 2024 will receive a Penalty Charge Notice (PCN). The charges for the PCN are as follows:

The initial penalty charge for all non-compliant vehicles entering the Aberdeen Low Emission Zone will be £60 - reduced to £30 if it is paid within 14 days.

The penalty charge amount will double each time you drive into the Low Emission Zone with the same non-compliant vehicle. So, if you are driving into the zone for the second time, the charge will be £120.

Penalty charges are capped at £480 for cars and light goods vehicles, and £960 for buses and HGVs. If you have not driven into the zone with a non-compliant vehicle within 90 days of receiving the previous PCN, the penalty charge is reset to £60.

Motorcycles and mopeds will be excluded from this charge.
Aberdeen LEZ exemptions
Some exemptions have been announced for the Aberdeen Low Emission Zone. This means that even if your vehicle is non-compliant, you will not incur a penalty for driving within the zone from 1 June 2024. The exemptions are listed below:

Vehicles for disabled people (blue badge holders need to register via the Transport Scotland website for long-term or short-term exemption if):

the vehicle is being driven by any person who is in receipt of a blue badge that has been issued under section 21(2) of the Chronically Sick and Disabled Persons Act 1970

- a passenger in the vehicle has been issued with a blue badge under that section of that Acta blue badge for the vehicle has been issued under section 21(4) of that Act

- a reduction in annual rate of vehicle excise duty applies because the vehicle is being used by a disabled person in receipt of personal independence payment at the standard rate
- vehicles registered with a 'disabled' or 'disabled passenger vehicles' tax class e.g. the vehicle is exempt from payment of vehicle excise duty under paragraph 19(1) or 20(1) of schedule 2 of the Vehicle Excise and Registration Act 1994 (exemptions from excise duty for vehicles used by disabled persons)

The following exemptions are automatic

:Emergency vehicles (the vehicle is being driven by any person who is):

undertaking their duty as a constable

- providing a response to an emergency at the request of the Scottish Ambulance Service Board

- exercising the functions of the Scottish Ambulance Service Board, the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service, Her Majesty's Coastguard or the National Crime Agency

Navy, Military or Air Force Vehicles:

vehicles being used for naval, military or air force purposes

Historic vehicles (vehicle which is considered to be of historical interest to the UK, and which):

was manufactured, or registered, for the first time at least 30 years previously

- is of a type no longer in production

- has been historically preserved or maintained in its original state and has not undergone substantial changes in the technical characteristics of its main components

Showman's Vehicles (highly specialised vehicles used for the purpose of travelling showmen where):

the vehicle is used during the performance

- the vehicle is used for the purpose of providing the performance

-the vehicle is used for carrying performance equipment
How can Caura help you navigate the Aberdeen LEZ?
New emission zones can be confusing. We are working hard to allow all Aberdeen residents to be able to check if their vehicle is exempt from the Aberdeen Low Emission Zone. We will update this page once this feature is available in Caura.
What areas will the Aberdeen Low Emission Zone cover?

- From Hardgate Junction to Springbank Terrace Junction

- From Holburn Street junction to Bon Accord Gardens

- From Rose Street junction to Chapel Street junction

- From Upperkirkgate to Back Wynd junction

- From Thistle Street junction to Union Street junction

- From Union Street Junction to Union Square bus station

- From West North Street Junction to Castle Street

- From Union Street junction to Ashvale Place junction

- From Justice Mill Lane Junction to Willowbank Road Junction

- From Carmelite Street Junction to Market Street Junction

- From Upperkirkgate junction to Littlejohn Street junction

- From Rosemount Viaduct to Wapping Street Junction

- From Union Street Junction to Wapping Street Junction

- From Union Street Junction to Springbank Terrace JunctionThe LEZ boundary will create an enclosed zone within the city centre:
Aberdeen LEZ Map

Unlock free £500 excess protection

Save up to 50%* on your car insurance. Unlock £500 excess protection FREE with every purchase

Get Covered
Unlock free £500 excess protection with every policy through Caura

The Rodeo

Get the latest from Caura

Cookies give you a personalised experience. You can learn more in our .